Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: dsc level 1/2 - why take?

dsc level 1/2 - why take?

hello all,
    i have been on this site for some time now and read a lot of articles and contributed myself.
    i see a lot of people on here have taken there dsc 1&2 and i was just wondering wether they have done this as they have 'WANTED' to take the courses or if they have done it as they feel they 'NEEDED' to take the courses???
    i want to express my feelings regarding this without being out of line and upsetting people.
    i have been shooting now for over 25 years and deer stalking for over 15 years and i do feel i am an experienced and safety conscious person.
    i myself have not taken either course and my reasons are that until it is law im afraid a certificate is not going to make me more safety conscious than i already am, it wont make me a better shot than i already am(i do have my misses like everyone else!! )
    and im sure it will not make me understand the movement of deer any more.....that on its own is a mystery!!
    maybe you guys are just looking to the future but after speaking with a few of you in the forum, im sure the knowledge you have did not come from taking the dsc level 1&2 courses.
    no disrespect to people that run these courses, i have heard they are very interesting but my own opinion like i say, until it becomes law my personal knowledge and experience will come from the days i spend in the fields/woods etc amongst the quarry i shoot!!
    like i said, i would be very interested to hear peoples views on why they took the courses.......WANTED or NEEDED!!
    all the best

With most of the big Forestry companies you will need a minimum of DS1 to stalk on there ground, if it is Forestry commission land then it is level 2. So unless you stalk deer on farm land you really have to have one of them.

I did mine because I wanted to know the theoretical side of deer stalking and I have no regrets personally in taking the DSC.

Best rgds