Thread: delay in the bang?

delay in the bang?

h414 55grains with 110 hollow point .270 and cci br-2 primers , now ive never used this br-2 primer before usually just standard cci ones i use and ive never used this powder now when i fire these bullets theres 1 shot in every 4 say that when i pull the trigger theres a delay in the bang maybe a second say ive also noticed a bit of like oily balck stuff on my cases , im thinking that ive not resized the necks tight enough however i could be wrong any experts who could shine some light on the matter , and if it is that ive not resized necks properly would crimping them fix the problem ?

Sounds to me like a classic hang-fire. Would probably be fixed by re-working the load with a magnum primer. By re-working I mean going back to a starting load and working up again.Smoky deposits on the outside of the case point to low pressure and this would also probably be cured with a hotter primer.I've no experience with the .270; is H414 an appropriate powder for such a light bullet? Would something faster be better?
    Last edited by Harry mac; 25-04-2013 at 21:55.
    You can't say muntjac without saying, Mmmmmm.

Had similar to this when working up a load for 7mm STW using CCI200 LRP and 73.5 grains of RL 22. there was nothing wrong with the box of primers or the powder as Id used both in my 25-06, I switched to CCI magnum primers and problem was solved straight away. I assume that standard LRP primers are not man enough to ignite that size of load.

Did you fully dry the cases before loading as I believe slightly damp powder could cause what you have described.