Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Have you still got it?

Have you still got it?

Just had a satisfying hour on the stick welding, 16 S.W.G. ride on mower cutter hood, zero holes blown!......... not been in trade mode for a couple of years now. Who else still dusts off their original skills set/s now & then? ...... I always wanted to be able sharpen knives just like my butcher mate, with that big steel flashing up & down!
    (The Unspeakable In Pursuit Of The Uneatable.) " If I can help, I will help!." Former S.A.C.S. member!

Still got it when it comes to my old building skills,in the middle of building a raised patio involving a retaining wall and the block work is spot boll@ck,mostly by eye with the odd check,wish I could weld stainless steel though that would be a handy skill for me.

I used to run a building maintenance company very hands on, but I have been a Refrigeration Engineer for the last 16 years,but I still built an extension on my house in the last 4 years the only thing I did not do was the bricklaying and the plastering.

Funny enough I have been out welding and grinding today. Don't do a lot these days but still got it. Saves me paying someone else to do it. I used to have access to a workshop with mills and lathes but no more. Bum
    I can speak in-depth and with great knowledge about most subjects until some bugger who actually knows what he is speaking about opens his gob .

Ha Ha... still got it but through no choice of my own!!! not enough work/cant afford to pay anyone so still climbing trees...i just admire the view a bit more than I used to!
    Big bloke... but outta shape

Slaughterman to trade,been out of it for many years , but still got it, never far away from a dead animal and enjoy showing off my skill, never been a problem sharpening knives