First shot from a cold barrel or grouping?

I. Farticus

Hi All

As an admission, I'm still pretty new to stalking, but have been around firearms for 30-odd years. Most of that has been centrefire and rimfire target shooting, the sole purpose of which is to score V-Bulls at distances out to 1200yds, so in essence it's actually about being able to group rounds.

So, to my point; There are ton of posts/threads/comments on how a rifle does (or generally doesn't) group, but as I'm yet to group on live quarry, this is what I'm trying to achieve with my set up...

This was the first round, from a cold barrel, at 100 yds:
SST 150513.jpg

At this stage I packed up, had a coffee and a natter, collected my target and came home. This wasn't me being clever but:
1. If I can do this every time, then I'm a happy camper as the deer will drop into its shadow
2. I'm a tight sod, and see no point in wasting ammo

This thread isn't an "aren't I clever", or to raise "no, you're a kn*b" comments, but to understand what others think...

Cheers
iain

Completely agree, why continue until you make a silly mistake to knock your confidence, you have to trust the rifle in the field on the first shot so why do different on the range.

You are obviously confident enough in your ability and your kit to know that your POI was your POA and not a just a coincidence. I wouldn't be recommending this to the inexperienced though! Curiosity always gets the better of me. Can I repeat it? After all you may need a second or a third shot when out on deer not just on the range.

It's a fair point.
If you've done a lot of target shooting then I suppose you've got less to get out of a session on a target anyway.
I just love pulling the trigger and if I've gone to the effort of putting one up, it's fun to have a play.