Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What scope to use on xbolt 243

What scope to use on xbolt 243

Hi all

Am a bit of a newby here. Have just bought my first ever stalking rifle,xbolt stainless in 243, and am desperately trying to decide on which scope to put on it, am on a budget of £300 to £450 this will be used around around farms for deer and fox, would consider second hand or new and have been looking at bushnell XLT 3*12*56 but not sure what to go for as there is so much choice. While i'm on here could someone give me a clue as to which rounds and grain to use. If i appear to be a total and complete novice, I am. Am even considering joining a shooting club. If anyone out there can give any help or advice. Am based in the Co Durham area. Thanks very much for any help or consideration. Richy

Hawke Endurance 3-12x50 IR sat well on mine. One of the best scopes I've owned.

I use a Zeiss Duralyt 3-12x50 on my .243 for the same type of shooting you are about to do, farm land etc and it works a treat. It will give you a higher mag than say a fixed 8x50 if you get foxes out that bit further which I often do. Should pick one up on here for around your budget, watch the classified section.
    Bullet wise Federal 100grn soft points will cover your deer and I have never had a fox complain yet. Drops em on the spot. Some will argue that this is too heavy a bullet for Fox and Roe but it works for me so i've no need to change it.

Alba gu brąth

Sauer 101 6.5x55, Beretta Silver Pigeon 12g Over&Under

Minox ZA5 is all the scope you will need.
    Deer stalking and fly fishing opportunities in Devon

Meopta 3-12x50.seen one in classifieds today if its still available will do all you want and last forever

Thanks very much much appreciated

Hi Richy!
    A shooting club sounds like a great idea. That will alow you to "keep learning" on stalking and shooting and gets you into contact to other, a bit more experienced "rifle users".