Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: buzzards

buzzards

hi guys i have just become a part time keeper on a small ish shoot . i was wondering what you boys do to deter buzzards from taking poults from pens and wood . cheers any advice would be gratefull

Had a little success with old CDs hung from branches in and near the pens.
    One thing I always did was made my feed rides twisty so that birds of prey didn't get a straight run at the poults as they fed giving the poults a little more of a chance should they get hassled.

x2 when i ran a small farm shoot i used cds and also sometime just stndard scarecrows made from broom handle and plactic sacks , ive since wondered if a plastic eagle owl would deter buzzards ?? as eagle ows killl all other birds of prey, another very old but stilluseful trick to keeping your poults safe is to have a couple of gineua fowl around the pen!! great warnng system

The estate where I was a trainee had guinea fowl at the pens.I hated the bloody things but yes,they are excellent "watch dogs".
    Don't know about the plastic owl idea.Should work in theory

And a +1 for the scarecrow too

I think the cd's work to some extent, i tied baler twine inbetween branches/trees like a washing line and hung cd's in the middle of open sunny areas, we also added a load of brash to give them plenty of cover in the more open areas and extended 1 pen to give them a bit more room. It definately helped anyway. Some shoots use radios too

Never been on a shoot with guinea fowl but i know some keepers who say there actually a bad thing as go up to roost afore the pheas and there calling can keep/scare pheasants of the roost. Has anyone else heard this?

Absolutely nothing!

Ok not strictly true but I hate the sight of pens adorned with all all kinds of litter!!!!!