Thread: Help with browse lines please

Help with browse lines please

How do you define a browse line? Is it where bushes are eaten from ground up and/or where shrubs are eaten down to the ground?

I've been trying to persuade the farmer where I shoot bunnies that he has too many munties, as there is nothing growing in the spinnies and small wooded areas other than nettles and they are bare within with no wild flowers anywhere. There is clear evidence of foliage being chewed down to ground level and every time I go out I see or hear them!!

They also have a lot of hawthorn hedges between fields that are bare in certain areas up to about 2 1/2ft high from the ground. The more I look around the less new growth I see and considering it's a 1000 acres I don't remember once snagging meself on a bramble!!!

I've also seen more roe lately but less evidence of browsing higher up, but then I'm still learning so maybe am unable to spot the right signs as yet!

Follow my stalking journey & SD sponsored DSC1 progress blog here

DSC1 forum sponsorship - Blogs - The Stalking Directory

Strictly the browse 'line' will be just that - ie ground upwards to whatever height the relevant deer can reach. Keep in mind that Roe & Fallow ( possibly others ) commonly go up on their back legs to get to extra juicy bits!

Trees often struggle until a leader gets above deer height - so you end up with bell bottom trees, then as they grow in reverses.

​With the muntjac issue, you could try fencing a couple of plots - just a few metres square in likely spots, take pictures from same position for before and after comparison. Spring is the best time, but you may get results anytime - depending what is in there.
    Stalking and Courses
    BASC Approved Trainer & Assessor. Cairngorm National Park Authority Approved Supplier. Supported by Sauer Arms
    See you at Kelso, Scone & Moy 2016