Thread: springer spaniel

springer spaniel

i know this is nothing to do with deer dogs or tracking but i took my 12yr old springer beating with me yesterday and he seemed to have lost nealry all interest. over the summer he has lost condition in his coat and has kept a substantial amount of wieght on. he seems to be deaf to the whislte and at the end of the last drive he went straight to the end of the covert and just sat there watching the guns. my father who was shooting called him and he jsut sat there and looked at him. he has never been like this and i am quite worried any thoughts on what this could be would be greatly appreciated.

teddy i am no expert so just my opinion
    12 years in dog terms is getting on a bit as you say
    hes kept his summer weight on etc he may just be
    feeling his age and has had enough i know for a spaniel
    this may seem strange they work till they drop etc
    i would say take him to a vet and get him checked out
    if your really concerned especially if he starts to go back
    any more
    my wife has a 11 year old lab she will only take her picking
    up once a week now with the other dogs and give her a couple
    of retrieves she would go on all day but she wouldent be able to
    move for two days afterwards '
    old age mate it catches up with all of us eventually pete .

i think that may be what it is, its just upsetting.

my thought are the boy needs some time in front of the fire and at 12 years old he has more than earned it.

i have only ever worked one dog after 9 years old and she is just doing odd days in the pigeon hide or she comes with to steady the pups up

hell 12 x 7 =84 years old i would want to stand with the guns and not chase birds

mind you at forty odd if i caught a bird now i would not know what to do with it

thats just what happened with my cocker bitch. She has retired by the fireplace now. She has earned it.

this is such a sad day