Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: reticules

hi every1 i am just getting into stalking and i am going stalking next friday on the fallow bucks in shropshire. have just put in for my .223 for foxes and was wondering what people think of certain reticules for scopes and which people think are the best. i have shot on the 500 yard range with an ex SAS officer who swears by using the german post reticule setup and uses nothing else, even when on red stags. does any1 here use anythings else other than duplex or mildot?

Hi Teddy,

Good luck with the Fallow,
    Try and have a look through various reticules and see what you like.
    German Post is one of those things you either love or hate, A mate of mine swears by one. Personally I prefer a standard Duplex (not to fine especially if you are going to lamp with it)
    I have got a Leopold custom with a varmint Ret but it's no better than a standard duplex.

I would think if you did a 'Poll' you find the majority of folk use a German No.4 or one of its variants of which there are many. See the top row here:
    Standard duplex will also have many followers.
    I mostly use a Swarovski with an illuminated 4N reticle which I really like. I also have a German No2 which is a tapered post with a thin horizontal rail. The No.2 is great in poor light compared to a fine haired No.4, but neither come close to the illuminated No.4 . I probably get another 15-20 minutes of stalking with the Swaro!
    The sort you go for should really be dictated by the sort of stalking environment/range/deer types/light levels etc that you intend to use it for. Better to get something standard though as it will then sell easier when you 'upgrade' which you undoubtedly will at some point!

Swarovski TDS Plex for me

Fixed power A4 or A8 german reticle means that you do not need a range finder and that what you wish was shootable is either dead or left.