Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 1000 yard range shooting with a .25-06

1000 yard range shooting with a .25-06

Can I use a .25-06 for 1000 yard target shooting? I'm new to paper punching but I've joined a club and I'm really getting a taste for it. The only suitable rifle I have is a heavy barrelled .222. It does very well out to 300 yards, 400 on a still day, but there are quite a few shoots at Bisley and other ranges where the shooting is 600 yards and above which lets me out. My .308 is an m595 which I absolutely do not want to lose as a general stalking rifle, but its no target tool and I'm sure my FEO isn't going to let me have a second .308 just for the range. But I might have more justification for a .25-06. A long heavy barrelled varminter, probably a custom, would make an excellent vehicle based foxer and it would be ideal for the high seat munty shooting I do on my brother's farm. But would it be any good for 1000 yards? Does it carry enough weight to remain stable at that range, and can a hunting rifle ever make a useful long range target rifle or is it a compromise too far?

Why can't you have another .308? Used for two different things no problem!

Quote Originally Posted by deer man View Post
    Why can't you have another .308? Used for two different things no problem!
    Me too. At one time I had 2 .308s and 2 .243s.
    One can be heavy barrelled for high seat and range work and sporters for general sporting activities.

If you are a member of a target shooting club then you have good reason to have a second 308.
    I have both a 308 and a 25-06 and I would say the 308 would be my choise for long range target as there is so much data on it, more bullet availability and cheeper to run