Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Woodland stalking-advice needed!

Woodland stalking-advice needed!

Hi all

I have been invited Fallow stalking Wednesday afternoon on a 2000 acre estate in Oxfordshire, it will be mainly woodland stalking which I've never done before so I'm asking for any advice from our knowledgeable forum member's.

Many thanks

Ask the person thats invited you, its their ground and they will be able to give the best advice for you on what to take etc.

Hello Chris,

Go as slow as you are physically able when moving forward, stop frequently and stand and watch for as long as you see fit. When you do stop, try and make sure you are against a tree, both for cover and also to lean against should a shot present itself as you will find this a bit steadier than shooting off sticks.

Good luck, I hope you enjoy your day.

Oxfordshire, Wiltshire, Berkshire....and Sutherland
    View my Gallery (19)View my Gallery (19)

FWIW, here are my thoughts.

As Thomas said, go as slow as you can from vantage point to vantage point. Most of the times I 'bump' deer it's because I was spending more time moving than looking.

With leaves still on the trees and the undergrowth still quite high, don't look for a deer, look for a bit of a deer - an ear, a leg, a curve, a patch of chestnut, a movement - or basically look for anything that isn't woodland Also, occasionally crouch or even kneel down to get a different vantage point. With Fallow you will have lots of eyes looking for you

All that said, I was out yesterday and we stalked right past a roe doe that was bedded down in heavy undergrowth. We stalked carefully and quietly right past her without either of us seeing her