Thread: DSC1 at Greenlee.

DSC1 at Greenlee.

A few months back, I was lucky enough to be awarded a bursary by The Stalking Directory, in order to do the DSC1. The date was set, and I booked a week off work, to ensure that I would be there (I'm a long distance truck driver, so I can't just take the odd day off here or there). Unfortunately, due to a lack of numbers, that particular course was cancelled; I spoke to John at Greenlee, and he very kindly offered to let me attend the next course, as part of the bursary scheme, even though strictly speaking, the course wasn't being run by BASC.
    I had the books, and spent as much time as I could, reading, re-reading, and trying to memorise everything in them this turned out to be a mistake (at least for me), but more on that later.
    So, another week booked off, and the day turned up; cold wet and miserable and I set off on the four hour drive to Hexham. The directions that were provided, were brief, but absolutely spot on, and there were no problems at all with them the traffic around Sunderland was a completely different matter!
    When I got to the final part of the journey, the directions warned that the last mile and a bit were probably better in a 4wd, than in a normal car, and they were not wrong; I don't think that my Peugeot 806 enjoyed the last bit too much!
    The directions also warned where mobile phone signal would be lost, and again, they were spot on.
    After 'driving' just over a mile along a rough track, I arrived at Greenlee, with ten minutes to spare before the course started.
    It has to be said, that looking at the place on Google Earth doesn't do the place any justice at all! The nearest neighbours, from what I can make out, are over a mile away, and the place is very definitely on the far side of remote I would love to live somewhere like that, but my wife wouldn't!