Advice for new stalker regarding first rifle

T-Bolt94

Good evening all,

I have recently completed my DSC1 and now have my DMQ certificate and badge. I am looking to buy a good rifle that will suitably do the job. My current thoughts are .308 calibre, and a HOWA 1500. I would be thinking between 500 and 600£ max ideally including a scope (nothing fancy scope wise as I can upgrade this later with relative ease.) likewise, not overly fussed on a moderator as feel their purpose/necessity is somewhat debatable, and that a pair of plugs can protect my hearing equally if not better. I would be keen to buy the rifle new if possible but advice on a good quality second hand rifle would also be useful.

As I say I am new to stalking but have a relatively good amount of rimfire experience on both rabbit and fox. Any advice/comments would be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

​T-Bolt94

308 are a great calibre, also the barrels last well compared to other calibres . I would have a look on guntrader and gunstar and look for something lightly used. Beware of anything with signs of corrosion around a threaded muzzle as the mod may have been left on which will allow corrosion to set in very quickly
​Have just checked and there is plenty around. Have a look at the sako a2 and the lake lander which seem to be good value for decent quality. Try before you buy is a good idea if you can and don't be afraid to walk away. Also don't skimp on the scope, better to have a quality fixed mag rather than an el cheapo variable every time

Last edited:
Yes, I think it would suit what deer species are most prominent in Ireland and also the availability of low cost FMJ ammo that I can use to acquire myself with the rifle and just for practicing. I have often wondered how buying online works out for people in Ireland/NI are there any other implications that you know of or is it just a standard RFD to RFD transaction?

​Thanks