Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bullet seating depth .308

Bullet seating depth .308

Hi all
    I am reloading .308 with hogdons 4895 and hornady 150 grain sst bullets the lee reloading manual that I am using states a minimum length of round as 2.800
    when I seat the bullet at this depth it is not any were near the crimp mark on the bullet is this correct or could I seat the bullet deeper ?
    I am quite new to reloading particularly .308 any advice would be welcome

Im using 43gr of varget, 2.75ins col, federal primers, lapua brass

What make rifle is it?

I thought the MAXIMUM length for 308W was 2.800 or maybe 2.810 though I guess in many rifles this will be limited by magazine length rather than anything else.

I take it your powder load is a minimum and that you intend to work up and that you've seen no pressure signs with any you've shot so far?

By pushing the bullet further into the case you, potentially, increase the pressure as you reduce the volume of the case so if you were inclined to seat the bullet deeper in the case then you would need to start with the book minimum load a work up again if you wanted to be safe. If you are seeing pressure signs with your current load then, clearly, it would be unwise to do anything that could potentially increase the pressure.

I use the 150 grain Hornady Spire Points in 308W and seat them to the book recommended length (by the manual I have) of 2.735 which puts the "crimp mark" in just about the right place, I'm running a book max powder load and see 3000fps with no signs of pressure, great accuracy and good brass life. It probably means I have a little more of the bullet in the neck of the case than you and that gives me a little confidence in the robustness of the round, it would be a pain to have the bullet drop out at a bad time.
    For self catering accommodation on the Isle of Lewis please visit: