Thread: Where do I begin?

Where do I begin?

Hi All,

Clearly there seems to be a very specific curriculum in terms of training and I can spend some time later looking at the numerous posts on the subject. For now though I think my "beginning" may be elsewhere?

In short I would like to find out if stalking, and ultimately shooting, deer is something I would enjoy. I currently hunt smaller prey (with SG and .17HMR) but I am sure the hunt and the kill are not in the same league. In addition a friend and colleague has also expressed an interest and we are thinking of looking into this together.

If we consider us both as complete novices where would you recommend we start? Should we look for "stalking days" to offer a "flavour" of what to expect? If so, can anyone suggest someone who you would trust and recommend?

Thanks in advance (and sorry if this has been done before, I am at work and restricted by how much time I can surf at the mo),

Cheers, Mick

SD Regular
    Herefordshire, Hampshire or Essex
    Mick - welcome.

I would absolutely recommend going out with a professional stalker to get a real flavour of the thrill of the hunt. As to recommendations, please can you be a bit more specific on location?

I think everyone who has taken the DSCL1 as a qualification will comment that they have enjoyed not only the experience and the learning, but more importantly the friends they made during the course.
    Nooooooooooooobody expects the Spanish Inquisition!! Our main weapon is.........

For what it's worth your thinking along the right lines already. Definitely go out on some paid stalks (ie more than one), use an estate rifle or get someone willing to take you out and show you how to do things properly until your sure stalkings for you otherwise it could become expensive.