Thread: Progress Since DSC 1

Progress Since DSC 1

Dear All,

I joined the forum a few months ago and as a novice I donít have much to add on technical stuff or equipment. So I thought Iíd post about how things have been going since I passed my DSC 1 in the summer.

My first introduction to rifles and stalking was a rifle awareness course that I did with Dave Stretton at Donnington Deer Management Services. I took the DSC 1 course shortly after, also at Donnington. As a complete novice I found the course fascinating and I was surprised my the amount of experience of some of the other students. I picked up a lot and thoroughly enjoyed the course.

Having completed the DSC 1 I was a bit unsure of how to proceed. I looked at some accompanied stalking in Scotland and in the south of England. However, I am based in the Midlands and all the stalking seemed to be either a long way away or not aimed at novices. I eventually put a post on the Directory seeking accompanied stalking in Staffs or Derbyshire. Several of the guys on here recommended Mike Dickinson from just north of Ashbourne, so I booked my first stalk about a month ago.

I turned up at Mikeís not knowing what to expect. The first thing to do was a brief shooting test. Mike has built himself an underground range in his back garden. The range consists of two rooms / chambers, linked by two 100 metre long tubes, each about a metre wide. The shooting room has a shooting bench for each tube and there is a CCTV link and a monitor which shows the targets. The target end of the range is a shed at ground level with the target chamber below. A system of pulleys raises and lowers the targets, which means that there is never any need to descend into the target chamber. There is a system of lights which means the targets cannot be lit up when someone is in the shed above the target chamber.

I am not an expert, but the range looks superb to me. There is no wind or rain so its easy to zero or test different loads.