Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Success ratio

Success ratio

Good morning chaps,

what sort of success ratio do you guys have? I am very new to stalking, completed my DSC1 in September and I am still looking for my first deer.

I have been on four paid stalks now:

first stalk for muntjac, saw about 8 but no opportunity of a safe shot

second stalk, roe - only saw out of season does

third stalk, roe - no safe shot on the one doe seen

fourth stalk, fallow - didn't see a single deer.

These as were all with estate rifles, I now have my own .243 and am desperate to get my first deer of any species lol! I know it's just a case of putting the time in and I am still looking hard for some permission for stalking local to me as paid stalking is getting beyond my limited budget.

how long did it take to get your first deer?

I was very, very lucky - got into a syndicate and on my very first stalk managed to get a buck within the hour.
    Since then I've had mixed success sometimes very quick in succession other times there's a famine.

Don't get disheartened keep at it and you'll get your first beast and hopefully won't look back.

Best of luck.

Was very lucky and got a deer (muntjac) on each of my first 2 stalks. These were with muntjacstalker off here who I would not hesitate to recommend (loads of deer on his land and not overpriced).

since then the strike rate is probably between 30%and 50% for paid stalking. I also have been lucky enough to pick up a little bit of woodland stalking which is not overly productive but is still around 1 deer every 3 visits ish.

It's like anything wild no dead cert unless you want to come and shoot a park deer ! I've gone into double figures with a blanks at certain times of year with little on the in season list .
    keep plugging away I guess it's more pressure if you're paying for a guided outing but we all go through blank or bad luck times .
    good luck in your quest for your 1st deer