New to Deer Stalking, some questions...

Ieazo

I have some questions that I hope the more experienced members on here can helpwith.

I am new to stalking, well I have never stalked Deer with a view to shooting them before. I started shooting airguns when I was wee, I stopped for around 8 or 9 years and got back into them again when I was around 18 but soon became bored with plinking away at targets in the garden. Luckily I managed to get permission to shoot vermin over 40 acres of farmland local to me, for years I did this soley with sub 12ft/lb airguns, I realised that no matter how good my fieldcraft got I was never going to be able to control the numbers of rabbits in some areas due to the layout of the land and the wide open fields on one hillside. A few years back I applied and obtained my FAC, I bought a .22lr and away I went, I covered area's of the farm I otherwise was unable to.

Having heard so much about them and because there were still area's where additional range was required I acquired a .17hmr, it has it's pros and cons but thats not the point of this thread. Shortly after acquiring the hmr I was asked to clear not one but three rookeries, I tried with the airgun and had soe effect but not a huge impact. I applied and got my SGC I now have two O/U and a semi auto which IMHO are just the tool for the job when it comes to rooks, and clays are a lot of fun.
The point of all this is that as my shooting has evolved and started to cover different aspects of the sport, albiet mostly vermin control and the varies species concerned, I have had to research and learn more about my intended quarry after all 6 P’s, Proper Planning Prevents **** Poor Performance