Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Rifle for UK and further afield

Rifle for UK and further afield

I'm relatively new to stalking and am seeking some advice on a which calibre to look for. Now before I get shouted at, I have looked at the other posts and I am in a seemingly relatively unique position as I will shortly be moving out to South Africa for a 2 / 3 year period so I need something that will also be suitable for plains game.

Initially I was looking at a .270 or .308 (the latter being easier for me as I already shoot a lot of TR and have all the reloading kit etc) and dabbling with the idea of a 7mm08. However, having read the plains game posts on here and elsewhere it seems the recommendation is for 30-06 but this seems a little too much, certainly for the smaller species in the UK.

Any suggestions? If at all possible I only want one rifle as Mrs E isn't hugely keen on filling up the cabinet (especially as she's got two rifles in there already!).

Many thanks

in your position , 308 all the way. you are already familiar with it !
    Right where's those stones , I'll start !

Nothing wrong with the .270 for your needs, 30-06 would probably suit better... 338 win mag would be quite nice too...Not too heavy for Muntys.

Quote Originally Posted by tackb View Post
    in your position , 308 all the way. you are already familiar with it !
    Yip I would say the same.

You should read some of the South African shooting sites (yes they have them as well!), they will give you a better insight to hunting plains game than most of us can give. We are after all quite a long way away!

What I can say is speaking to my South African and Zimbabwean hunting friends you will find not everyone uses a something magnum! Seems for plains game 270, 308 and 30-06 are used fairly widely and the 7's are very popular, 7x57, 7x64 and the 7mm-08 is growing in popularity as people see it as basically a 7x57.