Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best DSC1 providers around Glos/Oxon

Best DSC1 providers around Glos/Oxon

I am just getting started with stalking after doing a lot of other forms of shooting for a few years. I am want to take my DSC1 to support the modification to my FAC and in order to learn more about the craft. As the course is expensive I thought it would be a good idea to find out if all courses are the same, or if some providers do a better job.
    I am based in Gloucestershire/Oxfordshire, so the nearest places would be-

BDS in Cirencester
    BASC in Andover
    Wiltshire College in Lackham
    Hampshire Deer Centre if they do one in Winchester

A bit further afield, requiring accommodation-
    BASC in Thetford
    UK Deer Management Services in Somerset

The one in Cirencester would probably be most convenient.

If anyone has any feedback on the above courses/providers it would be much appreciated. And to check, does the course fee (250-300) include all training material you need?

Sparsholt College just outside Winchester. Did mine there at the same time as Tartinjock...

I had a good time and felt they did a good job.

I forgot to say, yes the fee included the manual which they sent me after I'd bought my own copy. D'oh! I did sell the extra copy here on the classifieds though.

I am from Oxford and did the course at Cirencester in early Nov 2009 and think it was well run and I certainly benefitted from doing it. Also it had come recommended by a few friends. The only pain is that the range is a slight trek (just over the Severn bridge in Wales) and is generally pretty cold, wet and windswept. It was just a bit wet when I did mine!

Cost is all inclusive. Quite a bit of money, but not really expensive if you consider the number of days instruction, facilities use, etc..

Hope you enjoy it

UK Deer services in 2007.
    Three day course.