Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: All day stalking

All day stalking

I'm new to stalking having only been at it 3years. I mainly stalk woods. My question is that I know morning and evening are best but is there any benefit of stalking in woods during the day? Presumably this is where they couch and ruminate so should be stalk able.

any help accepted

most beneficial time during the day I would say from my experience is during the Ruts especially the Roe rut where rutting activity tends to be more midday-mid afternoon when it is warmer and more muggier conditions. Also depends on weather the ground is disturbed/undisturbed , as if it is undisturbed beasts can be out any time of day.

Where I am muntjac especially are active all throughout the day,its just getting on them.

Hope this helps

I find that I shoot half of the deer during the day. Never seem to shoot much at first light. The sika seem to head for the trees just before you can see them. However an odd straggler gets caught now and then. So after the dawn stalk/sit I go back to the motor or camp, have a cuppa and some breakfast and a read or chat with stalking buddy, then head out again about 9am. I stalk for a couple hours and often find deer back out. Same again in the afternoon. I have a long lunch and head out about 1pm for a couple hours often ending up in my evening position ready to sit up and wait. Give it a go. Just stalk real slow through the woods, stop often and glass, especially low down loking for deer laying up. ATB

I stalk alot in scotland and on most ground first and last light is great but I do often stay out all day I have got to know areas were the deer lay up in lovely sunny spots inside the trees so i just sneak in. The deer live out all year so you have a chance at anytime. you really need to move slowly and sit alot, you will often only get to see an ear or antler tip move slightly the ear is great its like a radar slowly turning or twitching every now and then,great fun atb wayne