Salmon Fishing Scotland

8en7am1n

A friend of mine (complete novice) is looking to travel to Scotland and would like to catch (and eat) a river salmon. Can anyone recommend anyone and what sort of dates would be best? Cost is really academic.

Step one: make a big pile of money on the lawn and set fire to it.

Step two: stand waist deep in cold water for 4 days, repetitively swinging a large pole. Ideally, ensure complete immersion on at least 3 occasions.

Step three: engage in conversation with at least 3 people who tell you that you should have been here last week.

Step four: stay up to 2 in the morning drinking far too much whisky on at least 2 nights. Savour the hangover while standing in the cold water the next day.

Step five: go to Waitrose and buy a side of Scottish salmon.

You have now completed an authentic Scottish salmon fishing experience.

Step one: make a big pile of money on the lawn and set fire to it.

Step two: stand waist deep in cold water for 4 days, repetitively swinging a large pole. Ideally, ensure complete immersion on at least 3 occasions.

Step three: engage in conversation with at least 3 people who tell you that you should have been here last week.

Step four: stay up to 2 in the morning drinking far too much whisky on at least 2 nights. Savour the hangover while standing in the cold water the next day.

Step five: go to Waitrose and buy a side of Scottish salmon.

You have now completed an authentic Scottish salmon fishing experience.

^^^^^ he knows ! :rofl:

Yip, salmon have no respect of fat wallets and wrong river conditions but you wll be told that the best time to catch a salmon is the day before you came and the day after you leave?

Ignore the nay-sayers

Head away from the mighty rivers (Spey, Tay, etc) and look for association water on smaller rivers. For less than £30 a day your mate will have as much chance of catching salmon as those who spend thousands. You can have fantastic salmon fishing in Scotland on a budget.