Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Calibre choice.

Calibre choice.

Hi Folks, as said in my intro im new to Stalking and am just doing my ground work with a view taking it up this year, ive had some luck getting some more Roe ground on Farms around my area and am waiting on my best practice guide soming which will hopefully give me a good grounding in the basics, just wanted to pick some brains untill then on calibre etc 95% of my stalking will be Roe and want a suitable rifle for Foxes also without overkill etc so im swaying after some advice to the .22-250 but someone else has suggested the .243 to cover me should i do some Red deer aswel, any thoughts would be welcome.

Hi, First off you should forget the term "Overkill", no such thing , dead is dead whatever calibre you employ, Home office guidance allows the use of reasonably large calibres for stopping fox, as to your choice of calibre, there is nothing wrong or wanting about a .243, I have shot Reds with it, but you may find some estates require something with a little more "OOMMPH", if you want to cover all the bases in the UK, think about a .270, 308, or similar, good for Roe, & will stop anything else you want to try such as Boar, I'm sure you will get a few more replies!, Steve.

A 243 shooting a 58gn bullet will pretty much match a 22-250 in ballistics at all normal foxing ranges. But the 243 can also shoot upto 100gn bullets; therefore you can shoot any of the large deer species quite legally.

Ideally IMO you need a 22CF, a 6mm or 6.5mm rifle then a 270, 7mm, or 30 cal. That way you will never have to compromise whatever quarry you are hunting.

Steve and Thar are spot on I reckon. I had a .22-250 for about 8 years for foxing and Scots roe, but since I went back to .243 I haven't looked back.
    Get a .243 for roe and foxes...80 / 87 / 90gr bullet perhaps.
    Then in the future plan for a .308 or .270 or 7mm