Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Thinking about a trip to Scotland - anyone got some recommendations?

Thinking about a trip to Scotland - anyone got some recommendations?

Ok - here's the situation. My 30th birthday is coming up in September and it's been suggested to me by my relatives that I might like to go hunting in Scotland for a few days as a means of celebrating / enjoying it! This is obviously an idea I like the sound of, but there are some questions to be answered before I let them package me off and send me up into the wilds.

In short, I'm not an experienced stalker and I've never done anything like this before, so there are probably questions I don't know to even ask. By the time I go up there, I'll probably only have been on three or four stalks total, so I'm going to need to stalk with someone rather than be left in a high seat somewhere.

Some questions to get you started:
    - What sort of price should I expect to pay for 2-4 days stalking and - if appropriate - how does it vary across Scotland? Neither I nor my family are made of money, so I'm aware the whole idea may be a non-starter.
    - Are there any areas of the country where stalking (and terrain) is easier than others - bearing in mind I'm a relatively inexperienced recreational stalker?
    - I hunt to be able to eat rather than for trophies, so I don't mind what kind of deer I'm shooting - though it would be nice to try for a Red at some point.
    - Is it worth trying to build some stalking into a family holiday - say, a week in a cottage, of which three days is stalking - or is it difficult to do this? Obviously it would be nice to take us all up to Scotland, but I'm aware that leaving wife and baby alone in a cottage for three days may not be the best plan...
    - I think I've probably got all the kit I need for woodland stalking, but is there anything particular that I'd need additionally for hill stalking?
    - Does anyone have any recommendations for places / estates / guides?