River Fly fishing Kit?

Alistair

Evening all, just a quick question. Can anyone recommend some good quality, relatively cheap fly tackle for fishing the river Dee for grayling and smaller trout? I have been invited by a friend to tag along for a few days towards the end of June and, as always, cash is tight. I have been informed that I should be looking for a #4 weight of around 7'6" and a reel big enough for a double taper line of the same and some backing. I currently fish with a #7 weight Hardy Zenith, but as I am unlikely to find another one going for a steal, I need something a little more reasonably priced but that still performs. I have little to no experience of river fishing, but consider myself to be proficient at casting even with a double taper. I don't mind if it is new or second hand kit, as long as it has been looked after, but i am a touch wary of some of the stuff on fleabay etc. Any thoughts?
Thanks,
Alistair

Hi alistair, try John Norris of Penrith they do complete kits exactly what your looking for and will post it, I am on there mailing list and every flier they send out has these complete fishing outfits in it , and they look good value for money,
good luck jab.

Whereabouts on the Dee? A 7'6" 4wt trout rod is very light and more akin to using on slow moving small streams. Remember if playing a fish in fast moving water the rod has to cope with the weight of the fish plus the drag of the current, it's not just about the casting.

Unless its a tiny stream I would personally go for a 8'6" or 9' 5wt as a general river rod, and even up to a 6wt depending on size of water....

Thanks for all your advice, I will take a look at the Greys Kits and on John Norris. It is near Llangollen (is that how you spell it!?) and I was told that the #4wt would be sufficient. However, I bow to your greater experience. On a side note, has anyone else visited Sportfish near Hereford, i went last weekend and it seems like a nice set up.