Game Dealers and future changes?

Remington 700

Yesterday, I had a meeting with the Estate manager and gamekeeper, reference future deer management on the estate. One comment that was raised by the gamekeeper was that he was informed by Vickers game dealers, that game inspectors are now trying to put pressure on game dealers and the powers that be, to stop accepting chest shot deer into the larder, quoting contamination! His words were, that a black mark would be applied against the carcass and that carcass would have to be rejected. They are now looking to only receive head or neck shot animals only.

If this were true this would have severe reprecussions for venison producers and stalkers alike.

Sorry about the Chinese Whispers, but has anyone else heard of any such proposals. :-|

I am a Meat inspector and work for the Food Standards Agency. I attend the local game dealers and inspect carcases and I can assure you we have not been told any such thing. To me it sounds like the game dealer using this as an excuse to probably drop the price paid for chest shot deer !!!. Our local dealers pay the same price across the board.
Brian

Yesterday, I had a meeting with the Estate manager and gamekeeper, reference future deer management on the estate. One comment that was raised by the gamekeeper was that he was informed by Vickers game dealers, that game inspectors are now trying to put pressure on game dealers and the powers that be, to stop accepting chest shot deer into the larder, quoting contamination! His words were, that a black mark would be applied against the carcass and that carcass would have to be rejected. They are now looking to only receive head or neck shot animals only.

If this were true this would have severe reprecussions for venison producers and stalkers alike.

Sorry about the Chinese Whispers, but has anyone else heard of any such proposals. :-|