Thread: Can I get a six year old to start tracking deer.

Can I get a six year old to start tracking deer.

I have a six year old lab cross who is a family pet but I have taken him beating and he hunts well, finds fallen game but is reluctant to pick up unless it is in water! He has a very gentle temperament and is steady although could be better!
    i am new to stalking having only really been doing it seriously for 2 years and now am wondering if my old dog could be useful as well as company stalking. How do I go about finding out? Is it just a case of taking him along? Should I keep him on a shortish (few metres) lead for the first few times? Is there a course I can do with him?
    any help very welcome.

Victoria Australia Sambar country.
    Of course you can.

As long as he is an eager to please his master type.

Shoot deer and as many as possible with him and take him to find the shot deer by coming up into the wind and all the time encouraging him until you both actually walk into the deer.

Make a fuss of him until he knows that he is the wonder dog.

A piece of liver as a reward..(labs are guts) and that alone will have him 'on the job' very quickly.

Its not hard at all but you need to do it often and then more often.
    Dont dither,take the shot!

Thanks sounds like I now have a stalking companion