Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: best calibre for hares

best calibre for hares

The farm where I stalk is absolutely over-run with hares, and the farmer has asked me to make a plan to get them under control. It's not really what I'm about, but the stalking on his ground is so good that I want to be seen to making an effort. I use a .243 for deer, and imagine that this is pretty OTT for hares, so am looking for some help with the right calibre (and rifle). I'm relatively new to shooting, so any responses in plain English would be very much appreciated!

shame to shoot them really but needs must by the sound of it ?

22lr/17hmr or my favourite 22wmr will all work , you need to adjust your range to the calibre your using.
    Right where's those stones , I'll start !

A lot of folk feel the same about shooting hares, myself included.
    Something odd about them, only shoot if have too.
    "Don't say I didnae warn ye !"

I've never shot a hare, because I fluffed the only chance ever had to. It's a shame as they are fantastic eating. I've been stalking in a few places that have quite a lot of them around, and I always think it's strange how they are pretty much the most sought-after small game species in France, and in the UK, no-one's very interested at all.

If you just need to kill them, anything from a 22 Hornet and up will obviously get it done. If you want them for the pot or game dealer, a 22wmr or Hornet would be the best bet I think.

I hate to shoot them and just don't, though the numbers are much higher in East Anglia than anywhere else I have ever seen.

I wouldn't use a 17hmr on a rat.......

Just because you are paranoid, doesn't mean they aren't out to get you......

They are out of season up here but I would use my 22lr and in the lamp , we have a license on one field and thats what i did but none there but some lovely pairs on our hill ground and it is lovely to see them as I really dont like shooting them