Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Scandinavia Firearms Laws - Can you help?

Scandinavia Firearms Laws - Can you help?

Good Morning All! As some of you may be aware I'm launching a new firearm and hunting online auction website for the UK hunting and shooting market in July at the CLA Game Fair called GunBid. The site is being finalised at the minute and from the interest I've had on my Facebook page ( ) it looks like it is something like minded people are interested in.

But my question is this...does anyone have any knowledge of the laws and firearms regulations for Scandinavian countries such as Norway, Sweden, Finland and Denmark? The reason I ask is that they are very hunting orientated nations and bringing together likeminded people from different nations can only be a good thing. I have a lot of knowledge with UK and German law but that is my limit unfortunately.

It would be great if anyone with any knowledge of the rules and regualtions in these countries who could even just give me a steer in the right direction I can then research further

Thank you in advance!

The gun laws here in Denmark are quite complicated.

You can buy a shotgun if you've passed your hunting test (both theory and a practical test on clays), or if you are a member of a clay shooting club. These must be registered with the police-

Rifles can be bought by hunters too, but they've got to pass a rifle shooting test (I believe it's five shots within 20cm at 100 metres) before they can hunt with them. Members of rifle clubs can of course also purchase rifles.

Hunters may use semi-autos, but their magazines must be restricted to two shot capacity, and permanently attached to the weapon if they are to be used for hunting in Denmark. There is no restriction as to capacity for weapons used for hunting abroad, but it can be difficult to obtain permits for these.