Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: new to stalking

new to stalking

hi guys im new to stalking Can any one tell me how much a basic setup costs and what a basic setup consists of?

Hi Russ,basic setup well it depends if you want new or would be happy with good used equipment if you know what to look out for good used gear will do just the job, there are just so many variables so unless you specify a budget its hard to put a price on it, you will need obviously a rifle of suitable calibre scope and mounts and also binoculars and a good knife would be a nessesary items think you would be hard pressed to get a good basic complete kit for less than say 1000 shop around you may find bargain good luck!!!!!!

cheers fr that pal i will be looking at second hand gear t begin with and upgrade it as it needs it.

I'm not trying to put a dampener on it for you Russ but I have also found that there are lots of additional expenses that you don't think about if you just consider binos/rifle/scope. You will need ammo to practise with, and a slip for the rifle, and cleaning things for the rifle, and a vehicle that can get you to the stalking area and that can be used to extract the deer, and a sling for the rifle and maybe some sticks to shoot off, and a bipod, and decent clothing, and maybe a DSC1 course, and a few days stalking with a professional stalker now and again, and you might be lucky to get a lease on stalking near to home and...

However, I have to highlight that I'm from a working class background and have a very modest income and absolutely no family or other connections with stalking and I've managed to do it and I love it. My only regret is that I didn't do it years ago. Based on that I would recommend you to go for it if it is what you want to do.