Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Canoes, campfires and old the Boundary Waters Canoe Area....

Smile Canoes, campfires and old the Boundary Waters Canoe Area....

Not long ago I spent 5 days paddling a canoe in the Boundary Waters Canoe is a 2 million acre designated wilderness area that lays on the Minnesota side of the Canadian border. Thousands of interconnecting lakes, rivers, creeks and portages. The use of the area is controlled so not too many campers are ever in any given have to have a travel permit to enter, but aside from that you can camp, fish, hunt and travel as you wish... I have been spending time in the BWCA since 1967....
    My fishing mate and I paddled into Perent lake this year...a destination that we have been to many times in the past, usually in a group of 4...but some of us have gotten too old now to make the it was Dave and I this year. We left the parking area...and carried the canoe and packs down the portage to the creek...and started down the creek, in the rain whilst being attacked by clouds of mosquitos.... We met a few canoes that were heading back out to the road...they looked like they were trying to escape...soaking wet, bug bitten and worn out. One look at the way their canoes were packed it was easy to see that they were novice campers...and they had paid the price! We would fare better than they on down Hog Creek we paddled...

A few hours of paddling down the creek put us out into Perent lake....

A couple more miles and we reached the spot we had planned to camp at for a few days of didn't take long to set up the tent...

and get a pot of tea going!!