Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Calling Bucks

Calling Bucks

I'm new to stalking and am struggling to have any success with my borrowed Buttolo. How do you successful Roe callers do it? I've watched clips on YouTube for the noise and timing but how long should I "feee" away for at a time etc etc. The rut has started according to a few local keepers and I have a nice bit of ground that's nearly a bowl that I can sit on the top lip and wait.

take a look at john robos site yds on utube and vids ,or elmmer fudds check the vids and copy,

Theres no big secret to it
    I took a client out a couple of days ago to a field id seen does in recently , i called three short peeps expecting does to come in hopefully followed by a buck , we were a bit surprised a nice 6 pointer appeared out the whins 300m away and ran straight into us stopping about 40m away
    If they,r about and up for it they,l come in , just dont over do it by calling too much

Where in aberdeenshire are you? I had some success last year but have tried calling twice this last week and brought nothing else but does in, the bucka have not been interested. Last yeR it was second week of August so not sure if I've missed it or too early.
    That said last year I had not shot a deer so so was just out playing with the buttolo to see if it worked. Could have been law of he sod it worked when I did not have a rifle.

go up to forum at top of this page scroll down to thread on videos, theres calling on there

Cheers for the replys, I'm in between Aboyne and Ballater.

Should have said Paddy , if your up on top of a bowl make sure you have some cover behind you , dont be showing on the skyline