Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Decent books on shooting technique??

Gainsborough, Lincolnshire

Decent books on shooting technique??

Hi gents,
    does anyone know of any decent books to do with rifle shooting techniques, do's and don'ts etc...

I've always shot vermin mainly rabbits and been happy if I'm within 1" out to 60yrds, I've always been safety conscious but not really chased supreme accuracy. Recently though I've going to the range more and shooting targets has shown me how inconsistent I am when it comes to actual groups. I would say its down to years of been fairly lazy in my shooting as rabbits heads are fairly big and rushed shots can be more forgiving. Plus having poor technique due to been mainly self taught won't help. Also I've mostly always shot prone watching over warrens or favourite spots so shooting from a bench feels unnatural which probably doesn't help.

I'm after getting back to basics and hopefully becoming a better shot for it in the long run.

Have a look at 'The art of the rifle' by Colonel Jeff Cooper (2010) - this is about the art of rifle shooting really, not so much about rifles.

"A practical and extensive guide to the many uses of the rifle. Riflecraft has been completely ignored since World War II, says Jeff Cooper, America's foremost rifle instructor. To remedy this situation, he took it upon himself to set down the fine art of the rifle before it was lost forever. In his no-holds-barred style, Cooper instructs you in everything you need to know about shooting the rifle, while entertaining you with tales of marksmanship, combat and big-game hunting".

This book is about shooting techniques with a rifle, not about rifles. I bought it when I acquired a Steyr Mannlicher Scout .308W which is a rifle concept developed by Jeff Cooper - 'If you could only have one rifle, what what it look like, and what can you potentially do with it'. I am delighted with the rifle and have learned a lot from reading his book.
    A few wisdom's: