Thread: Gwp and Basic training

Gwp and Basic training

Hi there. I'm new to this and looking for some advice on training my first gwp. He's a dog pup 8 months old and I'm starting to worry that I'm falling behind on training. He's walking nice on the lead and sitting on command but as soon as the lead is off his neck I can't do a thing with him, he just wants to mess around and play. I have herd that they are slower to mature than other gun dog breeds. I just want to be able to get him to come back to the recall, walk to heel and retrieve. Any advice would be much appreciated.

My advice is post an intro before admin jump on you
    Further to that, there ate plenty of people on here who are experienced with training dogs, all will have their own ways and ideas. Have a look at the puppy diaries on my blog if you want to see what I've been doing with my pup so far, although I'm by no means an expert or even particularly experienced.
    One piece of advise I've had from others time and time again is this: "don't rush the dog" at 8 months your puppy still has a load of growing up to do and it's bound to get distracted by things. Take your time, start off teaching it at home in the garden or whatever, then take it to a familiar outside place with few distractions, then work up to other places.
    Good luck, I'm sure one or two of the more experienced guys will be able to help.
    See my blog for - My kindly sponsored DSC1 course and chart my progress from deer virgin to stalking veteran
    AND my new puppy progress DIARY

I'd say make coming back to you a game pal he still "as said above " a pup and wants to play so play, get him to want to come to you, lay on floor in submitting position and put on a silly high pitch exciting voice, then when he comes don't for gods sake put him on a leader straight away let him come and go freely for a while