Bark stripping & deer ID

stig

Hi,

I'm fairly new to all this, so bear with me... without a mentor I'm just trying to learn from the signs on the ground and hopefully you guys can share some of your knowledge:

Whilst out surveying my new land I've observed various bark stripping and damage to low levels of trees & ivy.

Most notably the damage is to ivy (leaves and stalks eaten/stripped) and also to willow (bark stripped) - pictures attached.

I know there are munties on the land, but if you look at the willow pic the damage reaches up nearly has high as my armpit which seems high for a munty (no?).
Also, would you associate these trees/plants with that of munties?
There are sheep in an adjoining field, but I don't believe they've ever had access to the areas photographed.
I've not seem roe on the land but that's not to say there aren't any around.

Many thanks for your help.

Stig

(if I've incorrectly identified my trees then :rolleyes:)

ivy_strip..jpg

willow%20strip..jpg

Quite a bit of damage there in that first pic. I'm no expert but could the second pic be caused by Roe fraying? Were there any scrapes on the ground nearby?

ATB
mick

Looking again it looks like it's been torn off in long strips horizontally aswell:-|

Last edited:
The willow does look like deer damage, but the top pic to me looks like rabbit or maybe hare how high of the ground does it go, l see lots of identical damage certainly done by rabbits in my travels, especially this time of year.

Didn't notice any scrapes nearby, but didn't overly look for them & yes, strips seemed to be torn off horizontally as well as vertically.
As for the damage to the ivy I spent a long time pondering whether it was just rabbits (there's hundreds of them on the land), that is until I begun to find identical damage at about 3 - 4 feet off the ground...
(I'd like to meet that rabbit ;) )

Some more pics:

IMG_0517..jpgIMG_0520..jpgIMG_0518..jpg

Last edited: