Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hornady interlock 150grn?

Hornady interlock 150grn?

I'm just starting out reloading for .308 in a rifle that I have had quite good results with federal powershock 150grn factory ammo.

seeking to replicate or better these results with my home loads I have sourced some hornady interlock 150grn bullets, I'd like to know a couple of things though before starting out.

1- what terminal ballistics might I expect with these bullets compared with the fed factory rounds I've been using?

2- the shape of the hornady bullets is slightly different to the federals, is this likely to lead to a very different level of accuracy?

SD Regular
    East Midlands M1/M69 Junction 21
    I've used Hornandy 150 grain in my 270WCF and found them an accurate bullet. Bullet shaep won't affect accuracy but may, perhaps, affect pressure as against the same weight bullet of different shape.

But as these are your first attempts at reloading then the usual rules apply of reduce by 5% and work up if any component differs from the starting load in the manual you are using. Shape affects pressure in two ways. Area in contact with the bore and also the distance of the ogive (rounded part) from the leed of the rifle bore. So as long as your round chambers easily and doesn't when you eject come out with rifling cuts on the ogive all should be OK.

Terminal ballistics are what the bullet does after it has impacted. The Hornady Interlock is a simple cup and core...the "lock" is merely a cannelure and on some an internal ring or lip inside the jacket they it will perfom muchly as any other cup and core bullet. If it has a square base there will be less likely chance of lead core slippage than with a boat tail base bullet.

If placed properly it will kill any deer that ever walked here in UK!
    Last edited by enfieldspares; 24-09-2014 at 12:22.

I'm assuming the federal powershock is also a simple cup and core sp bullet? Therefore terminal ballistics will not differ?