Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Application of heat to threadlocked muzzlebreak

Application of heat to threadlocked muzzlebreak

I need to remove a muzzlebreak that's been attached using a small bead of Loctite 278 threadlock. Loctite claim that half strength can be achieved at around 200 deg C, or complete loss of bond strength at 350 deg C.

Just wondering if localised heating of the muzzle break, and the muzzle itself, to 200C, could cause damage to the barrel structure, or strength? I'm guessing that a barrel can easily exceed 200 deg if shot rapidly with sufficient number of rounds (especially if used with a moderator), so I don't think the temperature is an issue, just maybe the uneven heating?

Any expert advice welcome,

Why not insert a rod through the holes in the brake and simply torque it off ? I've never come across any loctite that can't be undone with a bit of leverage.

P.S.... Im no expert in these things !!

Torquing blue (or green) loctite is one thing; red is quite another.

I think a barrel is normally tempered at around 540C, so I can't imagine 200 - 300C doing anything bad to it.

I might try shooting the barrel until it gets too hot to touch, but is heated fairly uniformly, then apply additional localised heat to the brake, along with a longer rod in the brake holes, and give it a whack. Maybe I'm worrying about nothing, I just remembered that on some US made AR15 type rifles made during their assault rifle ban era, they welded the muzzle brakes on, so that's well over 1000 deg C, and that process didn't seem to destroy the barrel!

Just heat it up and undo it. If it won't undo when very warm, get it hotter, you'll need to get the barrel seriously hot to do any harm.
    Sako TRG-42 folder .338LM🔫 Sako TRG-22 .308/.260🔫 Tikka 595 .222(NV'd up) 🔫 AR15 .223/300BLK 🔫Franchi 12g 520 9shot🔫Baikal .410 stealth🔫Ruger #1.243

Home | Varminting UK

Lancs / Cumbria Border
    Apply heat gently and evenly holding the barrel in a protected vice jaw.