Thread: Telescopes??????

Evening all,looking to get a telescope for Christmas off the wife.I am a complete novice when it comes to star gazing and don't really know what to buy.According to the bbc site they recommend a Newtonian reflector?.
    We have a budget of only £200 so I know I'm not going to get a lot for that money but any advice on make or size would be appreciated.

Star gazing my a**e, you'll get arrested for that

Quote Originally Posted by 270wsm View Post

Star gazing my a**e, you'll get arrested for that

What do you mean ade,I would never do that

I bought a telescope when I was a kid it had something like 230X magnification and it was a Tasco. Had lots of bits and pieces but as it was a 60mm objective lens it really shouldnt have had any more than a 60x magnification to see anything. They say 1x magnification for every millimeter of objective lens diameter is optimal. looking at my telescope therefore I should have had a 230mm objective if I wanted any hope of seeing anything other than a bright moon at 230X. So I would recommend looking at a Meade reflector telescope... not too sure on price but if you are looking at distant planets/ etc you need a good size telescope. I would recommend you try to save more as you may be disappointed with a budget item. Try to go to an astronomy club to see what others are currently using. Hope this helps.

Berkshire then Dorset now Herefordshire with a good dose of Dorset
    Blog Entries
    View my Gallery (15)View my Gallery (15)
    By all accounts mate something like this
    Your just going to have to do some surfing to find out what the astro geeks think