Thread: Best jacket and trousers for northants winter stalking

Best jacket and trousers for northants winter stalking

I'm looking for a new coat and trousers for stalking, I'm northants so it's not often it's really cold, I'm a farmer so spend all day in a shirt summer or winter. I'm stuck at what to buy, has to be very waterproof not to hot that I sweat before I start dragging but warm and worth the money.

Any help much appreciated.

Thanks james

I find the pinewood trousers to be waterproof, comfortable and not too expensive, also not sweaty. I have just returned from a weeks highland stalking and have no complaints with them. I purchased them from the bushcraft store, Enfield (they do have a website). Jackets I stick with Ridgeline for the same reasons.
    hope this of some use

Try Deerhunter there's loads of choice. you should be able to pick some up at reasonable prices. Use good base layers to help with the sweating. I have a few items from Ridgeline but don't use them unless it is very wet and have to put up with the sweating as I don't find them very breathable. I do rate the Fjallhaven trousers, but they're not cheap.

Hi James. I bought 2 pair of outfox trousers at the CLA. They were/are on offer at 60. They consist of the outer trouser which are well made by a german firm called schoffel, wind and water proof while breathable. Then the inner layer which apparently reduces scent while also being good for cooler days as an extra layer. Then finally a further clip in layer of padded insulation for sitting in seats etc. So good for all seasons. I'm well impressed and may put a further couple pairs on stock for future years. Jackets looked very good also but I wasn't in need of one, although very tempting.