Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 280 or 7x64

280 or 7x64

I am trying to make a decision on which calibre
    If anyone has experience of both and can give some pointers I would be grateful

the other info needed is the availability or ease of purchasing ammo and brass in the UK, so again any views from people who know

Uses- long range gong bashing and normal hunting use

It's a question I've been considering recently (280 Ackley Improved v 7 x 64). There's very little to choose between these two. More European ammunition available for 7 x 64. The Norma site is worth a browse.

Regards JCS

I have both: one .280 Remington and three 7x64s.

My first 7x64 is a vintage Mauser full stock carbine with butter knife bolt handl,, set triggers, and a Hertel & Reuss 2-7x32 scope in claw mounts. I got it by trading a similar Mauser with some history. in 8x60. The more I studied the 7x64, the more I liked it. A 20.5 inch barrel is not the best for this cartridge, but I love the rifle and it has been fun finding ammunition which shoots well, and working up loads for it.

I looked and looked for a full length rifle, to utilize the potential with 160, 162, and 175 grain bullets. After missing several or finding ones not to my taste or wallet, I decided to build one. I bought a Delcours match barrel, and a Ruger tang safety M77 for little money, and mated those. Now I am building new stock for it, adding nice open sight, taking my time, so I can shoot each variation.