Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My first sika stag

My first sika stag

Apologies about the delay but was awaiting for my lap top to be fixed and my mobile isn't good enough to up load pictures.

Early this year I had a had a couple of targets that I wanted to try an achieve, sika was one of them.

I know a chap called Jonathan who is a professional deer stalker but not a member on here who I have known for 7 years and spoke about sika stalking.
    He informed me that I should give Arron a call to see if we could arrange anything. So early this year we exchanged several messages and agreed that I could try for a sika stag. I did request that I am not a trophy hunter but should a beast become available I would be interested. No promises were given but promises of good stalking were which was fine by myself.

Late September we spoke again and arranged a stalk. We had a couple of stalks, each time I learned something new and more so about sika. I have a lot of experience with red, roe and fallow but very little on sika. One of the first things I have noticed about sika was the speed that they graze, they can come into view then completely disappear and constantly on the look out. Clever buggers!!!!

A couple of weeks back we arranged to meet and at a time. Gear packed away on off we were. Arrived at our destination. First look through the binoculars and we seen some sika, Arron looked at me and smiled, I'm not one to get my hopes up but felt that this could be the night.
    Wind check and we decided that we would have to venture to the bottom and stalk up towards them. The sika that we spotted seen pretty settled. All checks done and decided about how we'd stalk into them and keeping our scent away, there was cover but we new that we might have to differentiate from the track we decided upon. The wind started to swirl a bit which started to raise a few doubts but we decided to keep low to try minimise any scent to them.