Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: The Oil Business in the UK

The Oil Business in the UK

I was amazed during the year to read some of the inaccuracies written about the oil industry and how us Scots would instantly become wealthy if we broke away from the rest of the UK. I work in the oil industry and one of the reasons that I voted “no” in the referendum was the blatant exaggerations and, some may say, untruths that I read from the Yes campaign. I thought that I’d put together a document with some truth about the industry. I have named sources throughout so that people can do their own homework if they wish and have told the absolute truth as I see it. I am not connected to any political campaign. I hope you find it interesting.

Firstly, two graphs. The top plot shows that oil production from the UK is on a downward trend. Plots created by the Scottish Government including a forward prediction show a miraculous near-instant increase from 2014 but I’m afraid that I don’t believe it.
    The second plot shows the oil price this century. For reference the price in 1998 hit a low of less than $10/barrel and the price today is ~$66. Between 2011 and earlier this year we have seen sustained high prices but the old volatility (caused by over-supply, or a stagnating Chinese economy?) appears to have returned.

These plots are backed up with data in the following link:

The third plot shows the revenue from oil and gas taken by the UK government. Revenue depends on two main factors – the amount of oil produced (which is, as shown earlier, generally declining) and the price realised for the oil, which was very high in 2008/2009, and high from 2011 to early 2014. One thing to notice is that the tax has peaked at around £12 billion – certainly nice to have but not enough to run a country. The tax revenue was around £5 billion in 2012 and will have dropped this year due to lower production and lower oil price.