Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 308 win for driven boar hunting

308 win for driven boar hunting

I've been hunting with this calibre for about six months now (I had 30-06 previously). I shoot a few smaller pigs with it, using the Federal Fusion 180 gr. I was dissapointed with this bullet, not enough internal damage in case of bad shot placement and bad blood trails on smaller boars. As a consequence, some of the wounded boars were not found, even after miles of tracking with a dog. Now, I realise that wild boar can be very tough animals to bring down, and 308 is not a calibre that will put them down quickly, unless shot in the head, neck or the spine. However, I would like to know which bullet workes well for you if a bad shot placement happens. The most frequent bad shot on a drive is placed too far back in the intestines, because we shoot at running boars. I'm looking for a bullet that will make massive internal damage and good blood trail even in a case of a bad shot placement too far behind in the intestines. I'm not interested in softpoints, but controlled deformation bullets as occasionally I may shoot at something a little bigger too.
    I've had good results with 150 gr RWS TIG (ID Classic), but unfortunatelly they seem a bit light for anything bigger than small pigs. I have some experience with 180 gr Norma Oryx. A good, solid, hard hitting bullet which produces a lot of internal damage. Soft enough even for smaller game, but tough enough for big animals too. I've been thinking about trying the 180 gr RWS TUG (UNI Classic). And I have a brand new box of 180 gr Norma Nosler Partitions, waiting to be tested. These are supposed to cause massive internal damage, but also a certain exit wound in case of larger animal. So I would like to know, what do you guys use on driven hunts in 308 and what are your experiences with the above mentioned bullets.

You can't have your bread buttered on both sides. Just shoot better or leave it.

try federal powershock 180 gr