Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice on .270 reloading

Advice on .270 reloading

I would really appreciate any advice with a problem I have experienced,

I am new to reloading and have just prepped my first batch of once fired (in my own rifle cases), the bullet head seating seems very loose on all the cases prepped, I have checked it and they seem to be all formed at 0.280".

I have checked my new Lee die set it is 0.275" I have referenced this against another die set and it appears to be correct for calibre, in addition, a case formed in a friends .270 seems to resize correctly in my neck dies.

I can only assume that the brass has been "fire formed" to this diameter. Or it is something I have done in the cleaning and reaming?? The rifle is a 4 year old Sako 75 and has given excellent service.

Can anyone shed any light on the problem?

Or it is something I have done in the cleaning and reaming??

What the heck are you reaming?

If it's the necks then I can only assume that you have ruined the cases. In all the thousands of .270 cases I have reloaded over the years I have never ........................ never reamed anything on them nor have I needed to.

You need to go back to basics and just size trim to a common length clean the primer pocket of old firing residue and load.

I have proably given the wrong impression here Brithunter.

When I say "reaming" I meant light chamfering of the case neck. Surely it can't be something I have done during re-sizing and cleaning?

It is totaly immaterial what neck size your rifle expands the neck of the case to as your neck re-sizer will if used as per the instruction will size the neck to the correct size it can only be a fault in the neck dies or they are being used incorrectly.

I suggest you try and find someone local to you who can come round and see what you have been doing. I suggest you need to:

Remove the bullet heads and decant the powder from any rounds you have loaded up.