Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Budget starter Rifle

Budget starter Rifle

I am new to stalking and awaiting the delivery of my FAC with a slot for .308. Unfortunately money is tight at the moment and so I hope to buy a bargain starter rifle and would appreciate any tips or advice from those with much more experience. I hope to spend less than 300 on the rifle and have short listed the following:

Parker Hale a Safari/Safari Deluxe
    Parker Hale Scout
    BSA CF2
    CZ 550
    Ruger M77

I am not a fan of synthetic stocks and I am happy to repair and refinish walnut stocks and I would prefer S/C. Can anyone recommend any other 'cheap' rifles to consider and provide any key info or problems with the rifles on my short list?

Apologies if this has been asked too many times before and thanks in advance.

Gary (new member)
    Last edited by 4535jacks; 12-01-2015 at 00:33.

hi gary if it were me and it is im skint all the time,grandkids dont ask,! go for cz or look for an howa both solid and accurate rifles or stick another 250 on for a tikka t3 in wood blued,hunter,

I picked up a cz550 from this forum and I am well pleased it shoots like a dream,

WARNING: LUPUS IS A KILLER, lets support them in the need to find out what it is, what causes it and how do we defeat it. Donating to LUPUS UK | LUPUS UK

Living with Lupus - YouTube

BRNO ZKK600 is another to look for (predecessor to the Cz550).

Speak to Andy in EOC gary

Hey Gary , I've owned and used all of the above , with the exception of the scout . Any one of them will do the job . Have a look at a few and see which one fits you best and go from there . There's nothing wrong with buying used , just make sure it's got a decent bore and doesn't have any major issues . If you know any one who is familiar with firearms , take them with you . Maybe someone here might volunteer ? I'd go with you but it's a bit far lol .