Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ballistic tipped bullets?

Ballistic tipped bullets?

I'm thinking about bullets again! More to the point I've been on the Midway site and I've been looking at Barnes TTSX.

Now I've never hunted Deer with a ballistic tipped bullet before. A few people I know have said they had bad experience with Noslers so I've always avoided them but I've got no first hand experience of them. I've heard on forums and the like that sometimes they (ballistic tips in general) can be a little unpredictable?

My all time favourite so far is the Barnes TSX. Not the tipped one, just the standard hollow point. I like the idea that you don't get lead fragments in the meat surrounding the wound and it's the only bullet that's offered me a no run kill on a Deer. In my very limited experience they seem to work extremely well. But........ I've read that if they get muck in the hollow point they can fail to expand? Again, never experienced this but that could be down to not shooting many Deer with them?!

I need to buy a new batch of bullets soon and I can't decide between sticking to what I know with my limited experience, or trying something new which would eliminate the muck in the tip problem (if there is one?) but could maybe make the expansion less reliable if bone is hit (but then that's another maybe!). I've heard of plastic tips going off randomly and splitting the gut which would be rubbish. The best point about the TSX is it doesn't leave anything behind and makes a very free bleeding wound with a tidy exit.

So to all of you who've shot hundreds more Deer than I have, what do you think? I'd very much appreciate being able to learn from your greater experience. Do I stick with what's always been good for me or try their more recent development?
    Last edited by njc110381; 19-03-2010 at 19:15. Reason: Spelling!

Oxfordshire, Wiltshire, Berkshire....and Sutherland
    View my Gallery (19)View my Gallery (19)