Mentor wanted?

skippy1001

Hi all, i know im only a newbie and this is early days but i thought i may aswell ask and get "shotdown" rather than not ask, and not find out.

i am looking for mentor in regards to Deer stalking. I have registered for my DMQ level 2 and to say the least i feel a little rusty in the practical aspects of gralloching / carcass inspection to the DCS best practice guidlines.

I would like to state that i am NOT AFTER A FREE RIDE, i am NOT LOOKING FOR HUNTING RIGHTS and i am NOT LOOKING TO SHOOT DEER.

what i am looking for is someone who is expierenced (DMQ2) and works / is involved with the deer stalking community on a regular basis to help guide me with my portfolio. I would like to witness the gralloching / carcass inspection process and if it is possible get some more expierence of gralloching / carcas inspection before i start a witnessed stalk for my portfolio.

i am quite confident in my staking / shooting abilites and as such i dont think i will have much of a problem in that aspect.

Does anyone have any ideas of how i could find a willing mentor?

for those who have not read my introduction, i am based in central scotland (slightley off centre, to the east)

Thanks.

Skip, if you can't get anyone to take you on as a deer dragger:D, why not try around your nearest larders, & see if you can get yourself in at the business end!, lots of deer are taken to larder green gralloched.

Thanks for the reply finnbear270, i am not aware of any local larders that i could approach, well i have one but this does not supply deer for human consumption so best practice and DCS guidlines are thrown to the wind.

Any ideas on locations of larders that i could approach would be greatfully recieved.

Thanks.

Skippy:
Hopefully someone on here will be able to help you

If you have no luck have you considered joining the B.D.S. the Central Branch run courses for those wanting practical experience
I have no idea of the cost of these.