Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 22-250 what to look out for?

22-250 what to look out for?

Hi, Im looking for a 22-250 and ahev heard that they suffer from barrel wear/burn. What do I need to look out for when viewing one? Thanks Steve

i am no expert on second hand firearms but i would be looking at general overall condition. as you are aware lots of shots with a fast round can wear the barrel out, im not sure what quantifys as "lots" but put it this way a tatty rifle, worn blueing, scrathed dented and grazed stock would suggest to me that the rifle has not been treated very well. i am also not sure if you would be able to see a worn barrel with the naked eye, i can presume that the first thing that would raise the alarm would be inconsistant grouping.

If it was me i would avoid going S/H in fast cal rifles. it could prove to be a very expensive option.

one thing for sure : im not sure about alot of things!

Don't buy a 2nd hand 22-250 unless you really know and trust the seller.

I know a dealer who puts a borescope down each and every rifle that he buys. He swears that he turns down almost every 22-250 brought to him.

Good advice. Thanks. What level of use(even looked after) can wear a 22 250 barrel to the point that you get poor groupings? I ahev heard that as little as 2-3k can do it.

If considering a s/h .22-250 get it borescoped before you had over the hard earned. Most s/h are on the sale rack cause the barrel is worn. If not properly maintained will burn out faster. My mate's remmy went at 6k and was well looked after.

I have one now still tight groups at 3240 (i count them), but my last one opened up alarmingly at just about the 2K mark. I won't be buying another Winchester 70.

Account Suspended
    North Yorkshire