My Sika Stag - Just rx'd from the Taxidermist

Robbo25

Hi,

Chuffed to Bits and after a long time in the freezer and after a number of months waiting, I've just received my Sika Head back from David Hollingworth.

A few pictures enclosed.

I kept the Stag for a mount as he was my first Sika Stag, he's got an abnormal roman noes (not too clear in the pictures) and some interesting antlers.

Just need to agree with the Mrs where he's going to proudly hang now.

Robbo25

Attachments

• IMG_1709.jpg
    IMG_1709.jpg
    167.6 KB · Views: 183
  • IMG_1707.jpg
    IMG_1707.jpg
    157.8 KB · Views: 148
Hi Dan,

I'm no expert on the Sika but will check when I speak with the land owner next I'll double check and see what he thinks.

From Memory the two types of Sika (Manchuria and Formosa) were different in size. If I have it the right way around the Formosa is smaller then the Manchuria and the deer shown is off the smaller genetic line (Formaosa I think). For what it's worth I dont believe there is Red in this and the area it was shot has no cross breeding present i.e Red's with a look of Sika about them.

Cheers

Robbo25

Hi robbo i don't think there is any wild Manchuria and Formosa sika only jap sika where abouts did you shoot it mate looks like it has a touch of red in it still a very nice head .

gadget

Hi Gadget,

Shot in Invernesshire..

Looking at him again.. you could all be right. Half breed or otherwise since doing the DSC1 course many years ago and then getting into Stalking I always wanted to shoot a Sika.

Delighted to have him home and on the wall at long last. Only problem is the Mrs has said no more!

She may be right!

Robbo25

Hi Robbo

Can you forward me the details of the chap as i have a Munty in the freezer that is barking to take his place in my conservatory. Well done on the sika mate.

Rgds

Hi,

You'd be barking mad not too then!

Taxidermist name is David Hollingworth. As said in the other thread he's just set up a new website