This time it's not entirely my fault.

Muir

So I make the trip to the city to buy some hi-end gear oil for the front wheel drive box of my motorcycle and I pass one of the sporting goods stores. They are having a sidewalk sale for hunting clothes so I stop in and find some grey-green mossey oak gear in my size for 75% off and I buy it. I wander into the store-proper to see if any other bargain were to be had.

In the used gun rack there is a high end Savage .308. Armored synthetic stock, adjustable comb, accu-stock (aluminum bedding block) and a muzzle break at the end of a long barrel. It has a 20 MOA rail mounted. The price is $519. I am not an expert on Savage rifles but it looks vaguely like the police model I was considering a year or two back. That rifle was $895 though. So, not knowing what I was looking at, I call my good friend (a member of this board, I might add) and ask him. He tells me that it is indeed the rifle I thought it was and that this was a "take it home now" price. I talk to the sales clerk. It seems that this rifle was their display model, set up with a Vortex scope and bipod and that while unfired, it was technically a 2nd hand gun because the store owned it. (and probably wrote it off on their taxes) It still has the box and papers.

Well. I have about $80 left in my pocket and no check-book within 60 miles. I talk the clerk and manager into taking a deposit on the gun until I can get back with the rest of the money in a couple of weeks. They are nice about it and the deal is done. I'll pick it up in a couple of weeks.

Another mouth to feed but I'm not claiming full responsibility on this one. If Marine PMI had told me to walk away I would have, but he didn't, so he bears a good bit of the responsibility. I may be the vehicle of my own destruction, but I'm not the driver.~Muir

PS: And another thing! I spent all of my money on the rifle and didn't have any left for the gear oil. Dammit.